top of page
Search

Death of Roe vs. Wade


Witch Hat Chats, Evermoving We Rise, and Moonlight Potions & Charms believes the overturning of Roe vs. Wade is a horrific infringement violation upon women’s rights, civil liberties, our US Constitution, US Bill of Rights, and The Emancipation Proclamation. We believe in personal responsibility. Like all people, women should have their own say regarding their bodies, and mental and medical treatment without fearing retaliation from any state, federal, or government institution or official. We also believe everyone’s spiritual path is unique, and should not be forced to practice a religion or spiritual path she or he does not believe in or practice.


The overturning also reinforces the medieval patriarchal belief that women are property. Like men, women are human beings and therefore, not property. However, this will not be the only infringement that this US Supreme Court and the Republican party will pursue. As such, we need to move beyond protest to include writing and calling our politicians. The most important thing we can do is to VOTE, and fire these politicians, who only looking for power and control over women, the middle and lower classes, and minorities so they can protect themselves, not the people. By voting them out, we send a message that we will not tolerate their prejudicial, medieval beliefs, and we want change that moves us forward, not backwards.


We will continue to pursue and fight for our rights (no matter their racial or ethical background, sexual orientation, handicap, or any other prejudicial reason), and support any person and/or organization who’s pursues align with that previously mentioned. Thank you to Macabre Magick who provide their magickal sigil for womb protection and reproductive rights.


We will leave you with Maya Angelou’s poem Still I Rise, a fundamental belief in which Evermoving We Rise was founded.


Still I Rise

You may write me down in history With your bitter, twisted lies, You may trod me in the very dirt But still, like dust, I’ll rise.

Does my sassiness upset you? Why are you beset with gloom? ’Cause I walk like I’ve got oil wells Pumping in my living room. Just like moons and like suns, With the certainty of tides, Just like hopes springing high, Still I’ll rise.

Did you want to see me broken? Bowed head and lowered eyes? Shoulders falling down like teardrops, Weakened by my soulful cries?

Does my haughtiness offend you? Don’t you take it awful hard ’Cause I laugh like I’ve got gold mines Diggin’ in my own backyard.

You may shoot me with your words, You may cut me with your eyes, You may kill me with your hatefulness, But still, like air, I’ll rise.

Does my sexiness upset you? Does it come as a surprise That I dance like I’ve got diamonds At the meeting of my thighs?

Out of the huts of history’s shame I rise Up from a past that’s rooted in pain I rise I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide, Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear I rise Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear I rise Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave, I am the dream and the hope of the slave. I rise I rise I rise.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page